Early Reading Group

Earlier this week, I finally decided that my manuscript was ready to be passed along to my reading group. Over the next few weeks, six people will be reading Whispers, and sending along their edits and critiques. I deeply appreciate everyone who agreed to help out; you’re helping to make this book the very best it can be, and I can’t thank you enough.

Alannah
Alannah is the most voracious reader I’ve ever met. She’s one of the few people I know who reads even more than I do, and the only person in the world whose book recommendations I can trust 100%.

Jade
As passionate a writer as I am, Jade was the first one to teach me that prose could have all the rhythm and style of poetry.

Atreyu
I’ve been helping Atreyu edit his novel as he carries on his own writing journey, and in return, he’s graciously agreed to take a look at Whispers. He’s been an inspiration to me for years – if not for him, I may have never touched on the experimental forms I now love so much.

Andrew
Andrew is one of those “non-readers” we hear so much about, but he’s agreed to read Whispers for me. I’m very intrigued to see how a non-reader’s view of the stories will differ from the habitual reader’s view.

My parents
Ever since I was a little girl, my parents have received the first copy of everything I wrote. To this day, my mom will text me in the middle of the night to tell me about a typo she found on my latest blog post. I can’t wait to hear what they have to say about this new collection.

If anyone else is interested in joining the early reading group, just send me an email and let me know! I’d love to have a few readers who don’t know me personally take a look at the manuscript as well.

Next week I’ll be releasing the contents list, and maybe even a sneak peak of an illustration or two. Keep an eye out!

“May the space between where I am and where I want to be inspire me.”

Tracee Ellis Ross

5 thoughts on “Early Reading Group

Leave a Reply

