Boone’s Journey – So much more than just sci fi

This week I had the pleasure of reading Boone’s Journey, a short story by Kirstin Pulioff.

Boone’s Journey is an amazing short story centring around a strong, independent woman named Talia. Not your typical heroine, Talia is damaged and antisocial, an alcoholic and essentially an orphan, and I was left strangely sympathetic to her plight (even though I don’t think we’d be friends in real life).

810kFGbtPRL._SL1500_Although Boone’s Journey follows Talia’s latest space mission, it is the insight to her past that builds up the meat of the story. Through memories and flash backs, we learn of Talia’s childhood as well as her personal life, the life between her missions. These were my favourite parts of the story, and my only complaint is that they weren’t expanded upon even more – I would have loved to know even more about Talia’s parents, her training, and the man she meets on Amiliba.

With a touching and unexpected ending, this story is well worth the read, and I can’t wait to see more from this author! You can get your copy of Boone’s Journey for $0.99 on Amazon, or check out the rest of Kirstin’s catalogue!

20 thoughts on “Boone’s Journey – So much more than just sci fi

    1. When I think of science fiction, I expect the story to center around the action. In this case, the action took a back seat to the character’s emotional roller coaster – it was a very psychological story and I felt it bent a lot of the typical science fiction genre “rules.”

    2. No, it’s your opinion.

      After reading Boone’s Journey (I suggest you pick up a copy and actually do the same), which I expected to be straight sci fi, I realized that it bent so many aspects of the genre that – in my mind – the sci fi aspect is actually pushed to the position of sub genre.

      My readers don’t read a lot of sci-fi (they’re more of a paranormal/fantasy/supernatural group) and so I wanted it to make it clear to them that this wasn’t a straight science fiction story – that it contained elements of literary and coming of age fiction. Making it, to readers like us, so much more than sci fi.

      Which is, of course, my opinion. What with this being my blog, though, my opinion gets to be the title of the blog post even if you don’t agree with it. =)

      1. In the 1970s the New Wave movement revolted against pulp SF with traditional plots/action based story lines. In a distinct move towards the literary authors such as Le Guin, Silverberg, Lafferty, Ballard, Russ, all wrote heavily character driven SF that was incredibly popular.

        There is a serious tradition in SF for character driven stories. I think you are not aware of the variety that exists…

        Silverberg’s Dying Inside (1972) is case in point — man slowly looses his telepathic abilities and attempts to repair his relationship with his sister.

        Also, an argument is based on evidence. I have evidence for my argument. It is NOT an opinion…

      2. There are not exactly “straight SF stories.” They all deal with deeper themes such as coming of age, revenge, etc etc. A “straight SF story” by your definition would be a science textbook!

    3. I understand that there is character driven sci-fi in the world – I also understand that sci-fi can act as a sub-genre rather than a main genre, as I feel is the case in this story (which I remind you, you haven’t even read!).

      Obviously, Boone’s Journey can be classified as science fiction. But it can also be classified as coming of age fiction. In fact, it’s listed as both on its Amazon page. So yes, it is more than just science fiction. This isn’t intended as a jab at science fiction. I’m not saying that straight sci-fi is a bad thing, or that typical sci-fi stories are lacking depth or meaningful themes. Because they’re not, obviously. Plenty of great sci-fi has explored extremely important topics and themes, especially xenophobia and woman’s rights, while staying to true to the science fiction genre. But just like a paranormal romance is “more than horror” or “more than romance” because it combines two genres, this story was “more than sci-fi.”

      I could have said it was “so much more than just literary fiction,” and it would mean the exact same thing. But, with my readership, it made a lot more sense to phrase it the way I did, and hopefully get the author some extra exposure.

      1. Haha.

        I just read Memoirs of a Spacewoman (1962) by Naomi Mitchison—a literary memoir of a communications officer who confronts a series of biological mysteries (which of course spur self-reflection in a distinctly changed future) — ’twas my cake. haha

  1. However, he does have a point. Every fantasy/SF story has the main themes of story telling interwoven. All stories have multiple layers. And, I too, have multiple layers. I am like a wedding cake.
    I don’t even like cake,
    Unless its cheese cake.
    I really like cheese cake.

Leave a Reply

