Tattoos, Dancing, Orangutans, and Donuts

I know I’ve been a little quiet on the updates lately (you can blame the rash of new illustration clients I’ve gotten since replacing my tablet pen) but it’s been an amazing couple of weeks in Malaysia.

In the last week of September, one of Andrew’s students offered us guest passes to the Sibu International Dance Festival. The Festival was the same day as the tattoo appointment that Andrew has scheduled with local artist, Ah Seng, which led to a very busy day. Luckily we’ve got a friend named Alex who was willing to spend his Friday driving us all over the city.

So Andrew finally got his bird tattoo, which looks amazing.
IMG_2397
And I got to see dancers from all over the world.
FullSizeRenderIMG_2408 IMG_2409IMG_2413
We weren’t allowed to take photos of the dancers, but you can take my word that it was really great. My favourite troupes were the Youth Dance Ensemble of Sri Lanka, the University of the Philippines Dance Company, and the Vehaara Arts Group, who are locals from Malaysia – but there were thirteen groups, and they were all really great to watch.

Since then we’ve been eating strange food (black burger buns disturb me) and making new friends.
IMG_2375  IMG_2457 IMG_2458IMG_2451IMG_2700IMG_2701
But one friend in particular, who I’m refusing to name in hopes that it will help my heart break a little less when we have to leave her behind.
IMG_2461 IMG_2469 IMG_2472 IMG_2474 IMG_2476IMG_2657IMG_2659
Last weekend though, was the experience that will mark my time in Malaysia. We spent a night in Kuching, and on Sunday, I finally went to the Orangutan Sanctuary.

We drove to Kuching with Lucas and his family – I spent a six hour trip in a full back seat, but the scenery was amazing. I also discovered some really strange snack foods – yes that is a small plastic container of ketchup, and yes, it did come inside the bag of potato sticks.

IMG_2483 IMG_2489 IMG_2492 IMG_2495

After arriving in Kuching, we visited the Indonesian border to update Andrew’s visa – so, even though it was only five
minutes, I’ve technically visited yet another country!

IMG_2499 IMG_2501

We got a hotel for the night and Andrew and I got to go walking down on the water front, where there were a bunch of little stalls selling souvenirs and handy crafts, as well as a huge amount of food stalls (Oreo ice cream aa, so tasty).

IMG_2502 IMG_2504 IMG_2505 IMG_2506 IMG_2507 IMG_2508 IMG_2510 IMG_2515 IMG_2519 IMG_2520 IMG_2523 IMG_2526 IMG_2527

We also found this statue, which was erected in honour of the Kuching Cat Museum – I really wanted to check that one out, but it was already closed that night, and didn’t open on Sunday’s.

IMG_2519

At the end of the waterfront shops, we found a pack of kids and their parents playing with an assortment of light up toys. A bunch of them had light up helicopters that they were flinging into the air with sling shots, and because Andrew and I are essentially overgrown children, we had to have one.

When I finally got bored of bright flashing lights, we headed back to the hotel.

The next morning, I found random cannons outside our hotel, a temple that doubled as a cafe, and a specialty donut shop – I haven’t had a donut in over two months, and these ones tasted like heaven. We also visited the famous cat of Kuching, who is actually kind of terrifying up close, but looks cute in our nice touristy photos.

IMG_2529 IMG_2531 IMG_2533 IMG_2534 IMG_2535 IMG_2536 IMG_2538IMG_2540IMG_2541

And then… It was finally time for the orangutans!

…except that, when you’re me, nothing is as easy as it sounds. We arrived at the Sanctuary at noon, only to find a sign that said “CLOSED. Reopening at 2pm.” Lucas and his family didn’t want to stick around until they re-opened, but I vehemently refused to go back to Sibu without having seen my orangutans. Lucas found us a taxi driver who was willing to drive us around for the day, and wait for us at every stop, so that we didn’t get stranded anywhere, and take us to the airport at the end of it all so that we could catch a plane back to Sibu.

So, Andrew and I spent a little time at a giant mall, mostly with a few SPCA puppies they had out for viewing that day and at a strange Japanese import store where I got new socks, and at 2pm, we taxied back to the Sanctuary – and they were open!!

FullSizeRender(1)

We got our tickets and took a long walk into the jungle, where I saw some beautiful flowers and got more excited with every step.

IMG_2642 IMG_2643

We arrived at the viewing area, where the staff let us know that the handlers were out calling the orangutans, and we just had to wait quietly. The sanctuary is out in the jungle, and there are no cages – the orangutans are wild. They come into the viewing area to eat melons and other fruits offered by the handlers, but if they don’t feel like seeing people that day, they just stay in the jungle.

Luckily, this was not one of those days, and my life is now pretty much complete.

IMG_2550 IMG_2556 IMG_2558 IMG_2563 IMG_2567 IMG_2571 IMG_2593 IMG_2594 IMG_2597 IMG_2605 IMG_2611 IMG_2621 IMG_2635 IMG_2637 IMG_2639

These are less than a third of the pictures I took – I could literally wallpaper a room in orangutans. There were two females and their babies. The rest of the troupe, including the big male with his face plates, stayed in the jungle. One baby was cheeky, he kept getting away from his mother and snapping branches for no reason, and making kissing sounds at the people. The other was a lot smaller, and she almost never left her mother’s chest. They were amazing to see. They’d stare right into our eyes, and you could see how intelligent they were.

After an hour, we had to leave to make sure we made it to the airport for our plane. I hated leaving while they were still hanging around, but it was an amazing experience, no matter how long it lasted. So, we made our way to the airport with our kind taxi driver, ate an overpriced pot pie at the gate, and hopped on a plane back to Sibu.

IMG_2644 IMG_2645 IMG_2652

As I’ve said to Andrew so many times he’s sick of hearing it – the orangutans are my new best friends, and I love them.

3 thoughts on “Tattoos, Dancing, Orangutans, and Donuts

Leave a Reply

