Performances, publications, and anniversaries.

Well, well, well. It’s been almost six months since my last entry, because as we all know, I’m really not all that good at blogging.

That said, there’s so much stuff to update my readers on!

Since making my way back to Kingston, I’ve been much more involved with the local poetry scene, and with the spoken word scene in particular. I attend monthly open mic events held by the wonderful Bruce Kaufman, nearly-monthly events held by the Kingston Poetry Collective, who bring in performers from all over the country, and recently I even started attending a monthly poetry slam held by the Queens Slam team.

Basically, I’ve been keeping busy.

In September, I also participated in an event called 100 Thousand Poets for Change – a three day event, with concurrent readings being held all over the world. It was a celebration of peace, social justice, the environment, and sustainability, with a goal of creating awareness and an advocacy for serious social and environmental change. Bruce Kaufman, who organized the Kingston branch of the event, also went the extra mile, and is putting together an e-book featuring all of the readers, and other local poets who couldn’t make it out to the event. This book will be called So What Are You Doing To Make the World a Better Place?, and upon it’s completion, will be available for free from the Thee Hellbox Press website. The book is full of local talent, including a poem of my own called Riverbanks.

On October 1st, I performed at the Union Gallery for an event called Th(read)s. At this event, I met Ashley Newton – the editor of a local e-mag called FreeLit Magazine. FreeLit is full of local talent, and last month, I applied to be a staff writer – and was accepted! My poem, Unfunny Things, was published in the most recent issue, and you can expect to see a new piece included in the next issue as well, in the new year.

On November 21st, I was invited to join Adèle Barclay, a poet based in Vancouver, at the Kingston stop of her book tour, celebrating the release of her first collection, If I Were in a Cage, I’d Reach Out For You. It was a wonderful event at the Novel Idea Bookstore in downtown Kingston, and it was an honour to read alongside such a talented wordsmith. After the readings had concluded, I met Hugh Barclay, a local letter press publisher, who showed an interest in my new pieces – we met the next week, and are currently in the process of planning a chapbook of my most recent work. Hugh’s press, Thee Hellbox, specializes in limited runs of unique books, which are printed with hand-set type on acid-free paper, and are hand bound – they are absolutely beautiful. He creates works of art, and I am so looking forward to seeing what his plans are for my chapbook.

And, in a last bit of news – yesterday, my first poetry collection, Cold Breath of Life, celebrated its third anniversary. Where has the time gone? This collection, and the people that I’ve met because of it, have honestly changed my life. And I’m so happy to be where I am now.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

