The month ahead

March is promising to be a busy busy month.

Two of my early readers are finished reading through my manuscript for Whispers, and the others are diligently chugging along. It feels good to be able to work on the book myself again, and I have a lot of work ahead of me to implement all these comments and get ready to hire an editor.

While I leave you all waiting just a little bit longer, I thought I’d share a few more illustrations from the upcoming book.

Image

From The Fever:

Her fingernails tore through the flesh on my shoulder, lighting a fire inside me. I’d never have known it, but she was on the cusp of the change, with her glittering eyes and little white teeth. She laughed as I looked with surprise at the blood on my arm. It rolled across my heaving chest before she licked it away.
Three long scars, and a warning: “Watch out for the moon, baby girl. She’s gonna get ya.”

 

Image

From The Motel Room:

The click of the keys, the metallic grind of the type bars, the rhythmic shift of the carriage with every stroke. The sounds carve through me, more feeling than I have endured in what seems an age. It is euphoric, it is ecstasy. I listen to the sounds of him typing, and I have no eyes to close, but sight fades into blackness and leaves only my hearing behind.
I hope he is here to write libraries.

 I’ve also started work on a new project. I don’t want to say too much too soon, but while I was waiting for my reading group, I started outlining a new story. It didn’t take long to realize that the world I was creating couldn’t be contained in a single book, and so began the plans for my first series. Last week, I started writing the first novel. A young adult paranormal fiction series that’s still growing and evolving even now, I’m extremely excited about the direction this new project is taking.

The story is just flowing so beautifully, as if I’m following my fingers, and I can’t wait to see what I’ll find at the end of the road.

I’d love to tell you more, but it’s far too early to give up the details. If you want to stay informed, though, this blog is the best place to do it.

“You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.”
— Ray Bradbury

2 thoughts on “The month ahead

    1. Hey there, thanks so much! Good to know I’m impressing someone =P There’ll be a few more previews to come before the release, so keep an eye on this space if you’d like to see more

Leave a Reply

